It’s Happened … a Gull Moment!

When I set up this blog a few years ago, I thought I’d be smart and come up with a cute wordplay for the title, thinking that I might even produce a book with this name (using the better material) one fine day . . .

So, the popular phrase ‘Never a Dull Moment’ inspired ‘Never a Gull Moment’ (this being a blog about birds) and I even had this to say in my intro: “I have watched birds on six continents, but have yet to have a memorable moment with a gull of any kind. . . .”

Well, in the midst of a wild storm that battered this southern tip of Africa these past few days, I clearly wasn’t paying attention, and I actually had a gull moment!

Gulls.Kwaaiwater.web

Kelp Gulls feeding on mussels ripped up by the huge waves, Kwaaiwater Beach, Hermanus, Western Cape, South Africa.

 

About Duncan Butchart

Duncan Butchart is interested in all aspects of the natural world, with a particular fascination for birds and their ecological relationships. www.dbnatureworks.com
This entry was posted in gulls, Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to It’s Happened … a Gull Moment!

  1. Samantha Parsons says:

    Awesome Duncan!

Leave a Reply

